Online Astrology Consultation Start at Rs 199/ - Book Now
My cart
Empty Cart
No items in your cart
Your favourite items are just a click away
My cart
Empty Cart
No items in your cart
Your favourite items are just a click away
Banner Name

Karnavedha/ Ear Piercing Ceremony

( 8 reviews )
Price :% off
Languages
  • English
  • Tamil
  • Kannada
  • Hindi
  • Telugu
Puja Type
No of purohits
- +
Customize your puja
Puja Kit - Without Perishables
₹3499
Puja Kit - With Perishables
₹4999

Purohit for Karnavedha/ Ear Piercing Ceremony

Samskaras are religious rites that awaken an individual to attain social status and rights. It is the sixth samskara among the Shodasha Samskaras. Karna Vedhana or Karnavedha ceremony refers to the sacred cultural act of piercing a toddler's ear. It can be performed for both genders where the maternal uncle hosts the act. This ritual involves piercing a child's ear using a needle for its protection and as embellishment. It's not only materialistic but also has a deeper spiritual and scientific reasoning too. PujaNPujari promises to provide you with Purohits for the religious ceremony of Karna vedha for your young one.

Significance of Ear Piercing

Ears, the sensory organ of hearing, is one of the Pancha Gnanendriyas. They are two in number and frame the face between them. A thing of beauty has always been alluring to humans since time immemorial. Ear with its piercing and an earring installed gives an exquisite charm to face similar to how a lotus in a muddy pond charms the onlooker towards it. In Indian tradition, an unadorned ear is considered a lost piece of a golden painting.

Medically too Karna vedha samskara has a special Importance. Ayurveda, the Indian system of medicine has given a distinguished role for this ritual. Boring of the ear has been used as a method of treating a disease called hydrocoele. A specialized Ayurveda doctor can identify the particular ‘sira’ and pierce it with all due caution for a type of treatment called ‘ Rakta Mokshana’, for the disease ‘Antra Vriddhi’. Even today, a person in the state of Rajasthan is known for treating hydrocele by this method. 

Religious Significance of Ear Piercing Ceremony

Out of all the minerals mined, those which are used to make jewelry traditionally have a special significance. They are not only used for their grandeur but they are believed to rid the human body of many ailments. Astrologically, Gold is used in various ways to pacify a wide variety of inauspicious needs indicated by the grahas. One such is Dharana ( wearing) of Gold in specified places sometimes with particular Gems to liberate a person from various distresses. Samskaras Are based on the various milestones of child growth and development. Karnavedha is believed to open the inner ears of the child for receiving sacred sounds. The mere hearing of sacred sounds, with concentration, cleanses the mind and nurtures the spirit. It cleanses sins and purifies the soul of the child.

Understanding all these, our scriptures have considered the Ear piercing ceremony a mandatory ritual for all children.

Auspicious time for Karna Vedha

According to Vedas, an ear boring ceremony can be done in 3rd, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th month or at one year or depending on a family’s tradition.  

On an auspicious Tithi, Karana, muhurat, and nakshatra after reciting Vedic hymns the child is placed in the lap of maternal uncle by engaging him with various toys, a trained professional ( in ancient times it used to be an Ayurveda vaidya) pull the earlobe of a child with the left hand and pierce the naturally designed hole enlightened with suns rays and pierce it with his right hand slowly and evenly by needle or awl. This thin natural hole is called Daivakrita chidra. In male children, the right ear is pierced first and in the female left ear is pierced first and then pichuvarthi is inserted. Usually, this ceremony is not done in excessive hot climates/summer season.

Benefits of Ear Piercing

Karna vedha is done for ‘Raksha nimit’, protection from diseases, and ‘Bhushana nimit’, for ornamentation.

It is said to be done for the achievement of Dharma, Artha, and the Kama. 

It seems that this procedure strengthens the immune system. The injury to the earlobes initiates antigen-antibody reaction and thereby stimulates both primary and secondary immune reactions. Ayurveda says that improper piercing leads to various diseases.

A properly done Karna vedha samskara where prayers and mantras are offered to God grant good health and strength to the baby.

It is proven to be healthy scientifically as it regulates the magnetic field across the body.
It is believed to prevent many diseases and disorders including hysteria
Believed to boost all-around cognitive functions of the child 
The Chinese science of acupuncture states that the acupressure done at a particular point on-ear is believed to cure or prevent asthma. Behind the ear lobe, there is a natural, small microscopic depression that contains nerve endings linked with diseases like bronchial asthma, cough, and tuberculosis.
Ear boring is said to help in maintaining the menstrual health of a girl child.

Ear Piercing Muhurat 2021 Dates

Karna vedhan dates for 2021 are decided considering numerous factors. It is usually done on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday. The friendly and dynamic stars like Mrigashirsha, Chitra, Anuradha, Revathi, Ashwini, Pushya, Hasta, Sravana, Dhanishta, and punarvasu are considered favorable. It is not done on some thithis like riktha thithis of Chaturthi, Navami, Chaturdashi, Amavasya, Krishna paksha Ashtami. It is also not done in unfavorable Nithya yogas like vishkamba, athigandha, soola, gandha, Vyaghata, Vajra, Vyathipatha, Parikha, Vaidhrithi. Apart from these, the horoscope of a child is analyzed along with common panchanga checks to consider factors like Solar and Lunar eclipses, Sankranti and Sandhyakalam. Our Purohits can help you set a date considering all this for your child's bright future.

Karnavedha Muhurat 2021 Dates 

Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
1/1/2021 Friday 08:40-13:15 14:50-19:00
6/1/2021 Wednesday 07:46-10:03 11:30-16:26
9/1/2021 Saturday 14:18-18:29 -
10/1/2021 Sunday 08:05-12:39 -
14/01/2021 Thursday 07:46-09:31 10:59-15:54
15/01/2021 Friday 07:46-09:27 10:55-15:50
20/01/2021 Wednesday 07:45-12:00 -
21/01/2021 Thursday 09:04-13:31 15:27-17:41
25/01/2021 Monday 07:44-08:48 10:15-17:26
28/01/2021 Thursday 14:59-19:34 -
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
3/2/2021 Wednesday 07:39-08:13 09:40-16:50
6/2/2021 Saturday 09:28-10:53 12:28-18:59
12/2/2021 Friday 07:37-09:05 10:30-16:15
17/02/2021 Wednesday 07:29-11:45 13:41-18:16
21/02/2021 Sunday 18:00-20:17 -
22/02/2021 Monday 07:24-08:25 09:50-13:21
24/02/2021 Wednesday 07:39-09:42 11:18-17:48
25/02/2021 Thursday 07:21-09:38 11:14-15:24
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
1/3/2021 Monday 09:23-12:53 15:08-19:41
05/03/2021 Friday 10:42-17:13 -
10/3/2021 Wednesday 07:22-12:18 14:33-19:10
11/3/2021 Thursday 07:19-14:29 -
15/03/2021 Monday 07:03-08:28 10:03-16:33
29/03/2021 Monday 07:33-11:03 13:18-18:23
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
1/4/2021 Thursday 13:06-15:27 17:44-20:00
7/4/2021 Wednesday 06:57-10:28 12:43-19:37
12/4/2021 Monday 10:08-17:01 -
17/04/2021 Saturday 06:25-09:49 12:03-18:57
19/04/2021 Monday 06:23-11:55 14:16-18:49
25/04/2021 Sunday 07:22-09:17 11:32-18:26
29/04/2021 Thursday 07:06-13:36 -
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
3/5/2021 Monday 11:00-17:54 -
8/5/2021 Wednesday 15:18-19:54 -
9/5/2021 Sunday 06:53-12:57 15:14-19:50
14/5/2021 Friday 06:14-08:03 10:17-17:11
15/5/2021 Saturday 06:03-10:13 -
16/5/2021 Sunday 12:30-19:23 -
17/05/2021 Monday 07:22-12:26 14:43-19:19
23/05/2021 Sunday 09:42-16:36 -
24/05/2021 Monday 07:23-09:38 -
26/05/2021 Wednesday 07:15-11:50 14:08-18:43
31/5/2021 Monday 09:10-16:04 -
Date Day             1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
5/6/2021 Saturday 06:36-11:11 13:28-18:04
06/06/2021 Sunday 06:49-13:24 15:41-20:02
10/06/2021 Thursday 17:44-20:03 -
11/06/2021 Friday 06:12-08:27 10:47-15:21
13/06/2021 Sunday 06:05-08:19 10:40-19:30
20/06/2021 Sunday 07:52-17:05 -
Date Day             1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
2/07/2021 Friday 07:04-09:25 11:42-16:18
10/07/2021 Saturday 08:53-15:46 -
11/07/2021 Sunday 06:29-08:49 11:07-18:01
16/07/2021 Friday 06:36-13:03 15:23-19:45
17/07/2021 Saturday 17:38-19:42 -
24/07/2021 Saturday 14:51-19:14 -
25/07/2021 Sunday 06:20-12:28 14:48-19:10
26/07/2021 Monday 07:50-12:24 -
29/07/2021 Thursday 14:32-16:50 -
31/07/2021 Saturday 07:31-09:48 12:04-18:47
Date           Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
04/08/2021 Wednesday 07:15-11:49 14:08-18:31
06/08/2021 Friday 07:07-14:00 16:19-18:23
12/08/2021 Thursday 17:59-19:42 -
13/08/2021 Friday 06:40-11:13 13:33-19:38
22/08/2021 Sunday 06:43-12:57 15:16-19:02
Date           Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
1/9/2021 Wednesday 07:42-12:18 -
2/9/2021 Thursday 16:37-18:19 -
3/9/2021 Friday 07:34-14:29 16:33-18:15
4/9/2021 Saturday 07:30-14:25 16:29-18:11
9/9/2021 Thursday 07:11-09:27 11:47-17:52
12/9/2021 Sunday 11:35-13:53 15:57-19:07
13/9/2021 Monday 06:55-09:11 -
17/9/2021 Friday 11:15-17:20 -
18/9/2021 Saturday 07:24-08:52 11:11-18:44
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
6/10/2021 Wednesday 17:33-18:58 -
7/10/2021 Thursday 09:57-17:29 -
10/10/2021 Sunday 07:25-12:03 14:07-15:50
15/10/2021 Friday 09:25-15:30 16:57-18:22
20/10/2021 Wednesday 09:05-11:24 13:28-19:38
21/10/2021 Thursday 06:57-13:24 15:06-17:59
25/10/2021 Monday 08:46-14:51 17:43-19:18
27/10/2021 Wednesday 07:37-08:38 10:57-13:01
28/10/2021 Thursday 07:01-10:53 12:57-17:31
29/10/2021 Friday 07:02-10:49 -
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
3/11/2021 Wednesday 08:10-10:29 -
6/11/2021 Saturday 07:08-10:17 12:21-16:56
10/11/2021 Wednesday 16:40-18:15 -
17/11/2021 Wednesday 07:16-11:38 -
21/11/2021 Sunday 09:18-13:05 14:32-19:28
22/11/2021 Monday 09:14-11:18 -
24/11/2021 Wednesday 09:06-15:45 17:20-19:16
25/11/2021 Thursday 07:23-09:02 11:07-15:41
Date Day 1st Muhurta 2nd Muhurta
1/12/2021 Wednesday 07:28-13:53 15:18-18:31
8/12/2021 Wednesday 07:33-11:58 13:25-18:21
9/12/2021 Thursday 07:33-13:21 14:46-18:17
13/12/2021 Monday 07:36-07:52 09:56-14:30
19/12/2021 Sunday 07:40-12:42 14:07-17:38
27/12/2021 Monday 07:43-10:43 12:10-17:06
31/12/2021 Friday 08:45-13:20 14:55-18:29


Karna Vedhana Ceremony FAQ'S

What is Karnavedha?
Karna Vedhana is a ritualistic Ear piercing ceremony for a child. It is one of the important Sixteen samskaras of Indian culture.

When Karnavedha can be performed?
This ritual can be celebrated on an auspicious day and the date can be fixed as per the baby's birth star. Our purohits can help you set an ideal date for this religious ceremony.

Who has involved this ritual?
It is one of the religious celebrations, so family, relatives, friends, and neighbors mingle together on this day. 

Where we can celebrate this ritual?
It depends on personal choice. However, this celebration can be performed at the temple, home, and function hall.

Is this a religious ritual?

Yes, In Hinduism this ceremony can be celebrated grandly. 

Can it be done for a male child?
Yes, it is performed for both male and female children.
 

Helpful Links & Articles

Upanayanam - Sacred Thread Ceremony
Annaprasana Puja
 

 

Karna Veda is among the 16 samskaras, if the child is male or female, after one year of the childbirth, tonsure and ear boring can be done. This procedure is called as Karna Veda, the ability to hear improves if the ceremony is performed. Specified metal gold or silver can be used according to one’s ability and strength. This procedure is performed at one year of age, but it varies according to one's family tradition.

Sankalpam( The Testimony of The Vedic Vidhi)

The word Sankalpam indicates the Vedic astrology of Panchang, place, time, day, Tithi, Nakshatra, Yogam, and Karanam. These are recited to the three trinities of Bhrama, Vishnu, and Shiva. The Vedic Vidhi recites for the current Vedic year and the Vedic name of the subcontinent and other significant elements. At the end of the Sankalpa needs family members Name, Gotra, Zodiac sign, Birth star to recite as a part of the puja and to get the blessings from the Lord Maha Ganapati, Navagrahas, family deity (kula devata), Grama devata and Ishta devata (favorite god one’s choice). So the first procedure is to invoke blessings from the deity.

Ganapati Puja

The Ganapati puja is considered as an auspicious for all the ceremonies while starting the puja. By doing Ganapathi puja, will get free from obstacles, hurdles in life. It acquires materialistic, spirituality in life.

16 common offerings to the Deity during worship
Dhyana – Meditating
Aavaahana – Inviting the deity into the altar.
Asana – Giving a seat to the deity
Paadya – Washing the deity’s feet with pure water.
Arghya – to wash hands and mouth.
Aachamana – Offering drinking water to the Deity.
Snaana – Bath the deity idol with turmeric water, milk, curd, sugar, water.
Vasthra – Offering Clothes to the deity
Yagnopaveetha – Offering the thread to wear from his right shoulder
Gandha – apply sandalwood paste(mixed with water) on the forehead and shoulders to the deity
Pushpa – Offering fresh flowers while chanting the deity’s names.
Dhoop – Spreading fragrance to the altar.
Deepa –offering a Diya to illuminate the surrounding decorated deity.
Naivedya –  offering food to the deity.
Taambula ­– Offering betel nut and leaves with fruits.
Harathi - offering Harathi by lighting camphor

Punya Vachanam

The word of Punya Vachanam gives clarity of the clean ritual by invoking the blessings from the Lord Varuna (the lord of water) along with sacred rivers of the country namely Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswati, Narmada, Sindhu, and Cavery. The tirtha mantras are recited where the Punya vachanam is performed, and their all the five elements are,

Jal - water
Vayu - air
Prithvi - earth
Agni - fire
Akasha - sky or space

By the chanting of Vedic mantras related to Lord Varuna, the place will be purified, where the positive energy is being retained in the pot and Punyavachana can be performed. 

Navagraha Puja

Navagrahas are nine planets and each planet governs a specific element (five elements) in the life cycle, so the certain specified planetary combinations in the horoscope give both malefic effects and good effects.

The beneficial effects are taken into consideration of the particular planet individually and also in their combination, generally to rectify or to neutralize the evil effect of the planets. During Navagraha puja chanting of mantras is replaced continuously.

To remove the malefic effects of the planets this Navagraha puja can be performed. During this puja one will get blessings from Adidevata (subordinate lord of the planet), ‘Prathana Devata’ (main deity of the planet).

Pradhana ajjya Homam

It can be performed with ghee followed by chanting of Vedic mantras in which the Upanayanam procedure is performed.

Pradha Charu Homam

It is performed with Rice followed by chanting of Vedic mantras in which the Upanayanam procedure is performed. After finishing Pradha Charu Homam, sandhya vandanam will be performed with the Vedic mantras.

Sandhya Vandanam

This procedure is to conduct Vedic mantras to reduce doshas in everyday life.

  • Best professional Pandit with a good attitude and a lot of patience and skills. Had the best experience ever with the pandit who gave us 100% satisfaction with the Puja

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
  • Very happy to share our experience with the PujaNpujari. We booked purohit for ear boring ceremony for my sister's daughter. They noted down the details of our event very carefully and the entire pooja was organized well. The pujari made the pooja ceremony one of the most memorable events in my life. Thank you so much for the whole services

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
  • Best experience the poojari was very humble and the ear-piercing ceremony was done in the traditional way. I am very thankful for Rohit Swamy and his team for performing the pooja and arrangements

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
  • Previously we have booked the Purohit for Satyanarayana Pooja at pujanpujari. This is our second Puja booking for our son Ear Piercing Ceremony. They have the well knowledgeable purohits with a planned process. Once again special thanks to the team.

    Puja performance rating

    4 / 5
  • We approached pujaNpujari to have karna vedhana to my baby boy, as he is now 3rd year running. They approched in a very humble way and pandit suggested this ceremony can be celebrated in a simple way at home. Everything we bought online from the shop of pujanpujari. It reduced burden on us. Function has celebrated in a great way. Thanks to the services.

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
  • To my child we performed Karnavedha ceremony in the third year for the baby child. Someone told the it is not good to do ceremony for baby boy in the odd years. is that true?

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
  • To my child we performed Karnavedha ceremony in the third year for the baby child. Someone told the it is not good to do ceremony for baby boy in the odd years. is that true?

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
  • very important ritual we performed to our daughter in a simple manner, Puja N Pujari supported well

    Puja performance rating

    5 / 5
Add a Review

Your Rating



Purohit Purohit View More
Pujas View More